One Christmas present finished, almost.

by threegirlpileup

dscf2744

(If you’re John or Jenny, please stop reading this and don’t look at the pictures.)

What better way could there be to avoid all the laundry and dishes that need doing kick off the holiday season than have a gift craft-o-rama?  So while Steve lay on the bed nursing his out-of-whack back, and the girls played for entirely too long on pbskids.org, I knocked out this set of decoupaged fridge magnets for my nephew.

Inspired in part by angry chicken‘s magnets, as well as all those Scrabble pendants around the web, I’ve been experimenting with similar projects.  One day at the cabin, we were making decoupage magnets and my friend Nancy suggested that it would be fun to make a set of alphabet magnets.  I was charmed by this idea and thought it would make a great gift for my 3-1/2 year old nephew.

I collected some old books from our shelves and the thrift store.  My big score this weekend was a Beatrix Potter book with lots of illustrations that were the right size, which got me excited to get this project going.  As a base, I used a set of 2 x 2 inch wooden tiles from an old and now unused matching game.  I cut the pictures to fit and glued them on the squares; I used tacky glue, but I think a better choice would be Mod Podge, or at least glue applied with a brush.

I printed out letters and words on my computer, and used Mod Podge to apply them on top of the pictures, sealing with another coat.  When they were dry, I flipped them over and used an exacto knife to trim the edges. I may finish with a coat of diamond glaze, but honestly they look pretty good as is, so I may just settle for one more coat of the Mod Podge.

I still need to attach magnets…I was thwarted by a magnet shortage at A.C. Moore today!

Just for fun, here’s a picture of the whole alphabet:

dscf2743

Now, if I could only make some more headway on my slow-as-molasses knitting….

