A quick little knit–really.

by threegirlpileup

Although you wouldn’t know it by reading this blog, I love to knit.  The thing is, I’ve been held prisoner by working on what for me was a big knitting project: a Clapotis shawl for my mother.  Which I started with every intention to give it to her for Christmas.  And only finished last week to give it to her for her birthday.  Because it’s my inclination to start many projects and finish few, I was determined not to start any new knitting projects until this one was finished.  I just didn’t realize that it would be so many months!

While my knitting queue is still not empty–my overly ambitious Christmas plans also included a still-unfinished pair of socks for my mother-in-law–I found that finishing this big scarf let me itching for a new, quick project.

But here’s the thing–I’m not a fast knitter.  So most of the patterns described on Ravelry as “quick knits” are not so quick in my hands.  In fact, not quick at all.  But then Anna provided some inspiration.  We were cutting pieces of yarn to put out for bird nesting material, and she pulled out a rainbow-colored skein of sock yarn.

“Mommy! Mommy!  Make me a scarf out of this yarn!  I LOVE it!” she said.

I explained that there wasn’t much of the yarn, probably not enough to make a scarf.

“Well, what could you  make out of it?” she asked.

I told her I’d think on it, and I did.  A cowl, maybe?  But I doubted it would actually get worn.  And then I hit on it: this great little amulet pouch from the now-defunct MagKnits.

dscf3396

Anna loves necklaces and she loves bags, so I figured it had a good chance of actually being used.  I got to play with some different yarn, my beloved size one DPNs, and finish the project less than a day after I started.  Now, that’s what I call a quick knit.

dscf3400

The recipient gave it two thumbs up, and now there’s a second one on the needles for her sister.

Now if I can just manage to get back to those socks….

