Preschool–sort of.

by threegirlpileup

Anna had her first day of preschool today. I remember Maggie’s first day so vividly–the separation was a little tough for both of us, and it seemed somehow a monumental milestone. Today was entirely different, in part because this is not the beginning of a lifetime of schooling, but rather a fun diversion in Anna’s young life. Also, Anna is about a year and a half older than Maggie was when she started, owing to their different temperments, our busier homeschooling life, and my general intent not to send either of the girls to school. But as is so often true on this parenting journey, I found myself this spring rethinking preschool for Anna. It seemed like she was ready and would actually enjoy the right kind of preschool experience; and I was really feeling the need for some one-on-one time with Maggie. So I started looking around, we found this lovely little place. Morning Glory is a tiny home-based preschool program run by a woman I had met through La Leche League.

So today was very undramatic. Anna was very excited, and her favorite part of the morning was packing her backpack extremely full of toys and books and anything else she might need. For perhaps the first time ever, she sought me out to douse her with sunscreen and “bug propellent.” Part of the excitement of the morning was that she was going to ride with Steve, who dropped her off on his way to work–“I’m going to ride in YOUR CAR, Daddy!”

She kept running through the house saying, “Is it time to go yet? Is it time to go yet?”

Out the door!

Out the door!

Although Anna was certainly tired when Maggie and I picked her up, all signs point to a good day. Time will tell how this works for Anna and fits into our family life, but for now, we are off to an auspicious start.

P.S. Just one other thing I want to remember about today:  Anna and I were lying in bed this morning, and she said to me, “I wish I could have some milk.”  I said, “Honey, you just had a lot of milk.”  And then she said, “Oh, I misspoke, I meant I wish I could have my vitamins.”  That girl!

