Fig Jam. Or Preserves. I’m not sure which.

by threegirlpileup

Just a quick note for those who were wondering about the figs. This weekend, we had a surprising windfall of figs (and cantelope)  that Steve found at a hole-in-the-wall convenience store in Creedmoor.  Yes, there was fig jam made. Or preserves, I’m technically not sure which. My mother found a recipe, which I had independently found online here. Mom thought that this was the closest she could find to my great-grandmother Mimi’s fig preserves, so that’s the one we tried. Although I think it’s more like jam since the figs are mashed up. (Not that it really matters.)

This was the first time that I’ve made jam without pectin, and it sat on the stove and simmered for something like four hours.

I’ll spare you the photos of the filled jars, but suffice it to say that there were a LOT–the recipe yielded a total of 7 pints of jam. I’m looking forward to using it in one of my favorite snacky treats…little toasts spread with fig jam, topped with a little brie, a sage leaf, and a marcona almond. YUM!

