Gardening–not in the rain.

by threegirlpileup

We were lucky–both the weather and the girls cooperated and we were able to have a big morning of gardening. It has been blessedly cool (and by cool I mean highs in the mid-to-upper 80’s), so the mornings have been especially great for being outside. Equipped with boots and gardening gloves, we headed out to dig potatoes and do some fall planting.

First, the potatoes. We dug the rest of the patch to make room for new plants. I’m not sure what it is about harvesting potatoes, but it truly is one of the most fun garden activities for us. Maybe it’s the treasure hunt aspect of it. Anna kept locating potatoes, holding them up in the air, and saying, “Look! More fingers!” (the majority of the spuds we were digging up were banana fingerlings.)

Maggie had an especially good time digging up potatoes (also “fingers”) from her own plant in her own garden patch.

The next step was a certain amount of dismantling of the spring garden, including raking up the straw we had piled around our growing potatoes and taking down the bean teepee (which, by the way, supported huge bean plants that produced about seven beans altogether). Anna enjoyed helping with the second job, which to her mind involved cutting all the strings on the teepee–I was heading toward the garden with a rake while she headed inside for a pair of scissors.

You can see that she’s wearing her favorite outfit.

Much planting followed, but my dirty hands prevented any further picture-taking. It’s such a pleasure watching Maggie mature, and I especially enjoyed watching her take charge of two large basil plants. She carefully chose spots near–but not too near–the drip irrigation hoses, and dug nice big holes. She needed a little help getting the first plant out of its pot, but took care of the second all by herself. And then, without asking, she trudged back to the house for watering can to fill and water in her plants. In the meantime, I put broccoli, cauliflower (Anna: “I love cauliflower, yum, yum, yum!”), and cabbage. Together, we worked on seeds–radishes, lettuce, arugula, mesclun, spinach, kale. Maggie planted some in her garden and then set to work helping me with tags for the larger garden. Anna, I think, planted about 500 radish seeds in her garden–but it kept her busy long enough for Maggie and I to finish our planting.

My plans for food processing for the day were–as usual–overly optimistic. But I did can my first batch of tomatoes! Maybe pesto tommorrow…..

