Breathing room

by threegirlpileup

Lately, something kind of amazing has been happening around here.

This is the door to Maggie and Anna’s room, with Maggie and Anna playing behind it.

Now, Maggie and Anna have been playing together for a long time. But I realized recently that things have shifted. A couple of weekends ago, they returned from a trip to Gramma’s house in the midst of some sort of pretend play, hardly missing a beat as they retreated to their room and continued what they were doing. The amazing part was that before I realized it, they had spent well over an hour playing without even checking in with me. Maybe even closer to two–I hadn’t really been watching the clock.

As Anna is approaching four, it seems she has the sustained attention and the mental chops to really keep apace with Maggie in their complicated imaginary games. Plus, she has enough control to be able to negotiate some disagreements rather than just biting Maggie–a definite plus. The result is that increasingly they are able to craft these extended and very complicated imaginary games. And then play and play and play together.

Which is not to say that things are suddenly peaceful and seamless around here. I still spend a lot of my time helping them work out conflicts, or with Anna pulling on my shirt to get my attention. But somehow it feels like we’ve turned at least a little corner. It’s helping me see a light at the end of the tunnel of this incredibly intense time of living with and homeschooling these amazing and often demanding little people.

I’m looking forward to seeing what’s in store for us now!

