More chemistry (with videos!)

by threegirlpileup

There is clearly something magical about mixing and “doing chemistry,” because we’ve been at it again.  It started when Anna brought me a tiny grater and container and wanted to do some experiments involving grating cheese.  Reluctant to part with any of my precious raw-milk cheeses,  I set her up with a plate of samples to test, ranging from baking soda to olive oil to sprinkles.  (Scientists have a name for this, but I cannot for the life of me remember what it is.)  I filled her container with vinegar, gave her a dropper, and let her have at it.

The cocoa powder and the sprinkles were pretty fun, as was the vinegar.  No big surprise, the most fun were the baking powder and baking soda, which bubbled like crazy.  Anna loved that.

(not the greatest photo, but I just love that look on her face.)

Of course, this was only the first round.  Soon, colored water and a new round of powdered reagents were added to the mix.  Eventually, the careful droppering gave way to pouring.

It wasn’t long before Maggie caught wind of what we were doing, and each sister had a station set up for doing her own experiments.

Maggie suggested we take some video of her experiments, so here they are.  The poor quality is due to recording it on the video setting for my still camera, but it gives you an idea of what she was doing.

I can’t wait to see what crazy experiments we get up to next!

