I love my crock pot.

by threegirlpileup

dscf2599

Although I don’t use it as often as I’d like, I love my crock pot.  The most practical reason is that we have several activities that happen in the late afternoon, and by the time we get home, it’s hard to get dinner on the table at a reasonable hour.

But I also love cooking dinner in the morning.  I’m fresh, the girls are fresh, and it feels like we’re getting ahead for the day.  I’m not looking at the clock wondering if I’ll get everyone fed before the hunger meltdown hits.  I’m not flagging after a long day of mommying, and the girls aren’t bouncing off the walls (well, not usually).  I have the energy and patience to include them in what I’m doing, so we can take our time and enjoy cooking together.

Tuesday is a gymnastics-until-5:30-day, so Anna and I started the morning making crockpot chili.  This is a favorite recipe of Steve’s, and one I remember Anna grabbing off my plate in handfuls when she was about 8 months old.  (Ironically, she will not touch it now, preferring plain black beans with rice).

dscf2591

Crockpot Chili

(amounts are very flexible according to your taste and what you have on hand)

2 med onion chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 green pepper, chopped
2 T chili powder, or to taste
1t cumin
½-1 lb. meat, browned (optional; use more beans if you leave out)
2-3 cans beans, drained (kidney, pinto, black)
1 large can or 1 quart tomatoes, chopped
salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Saute onions, garlic, and pepper until soft; add chili pepper and cumin and stir well.  Brown meat in the veggies.  Put in crock pot and add remaining ingredients.  Cook on high 1 hour, then low about 6 more.

The original version of this recipe came from a great crock pot recipe thread on MotheringDotCommune, if you want to go looking for more tasty, all-natural recipes for your slow cooker.

