Keeping it in perspective

by threegirlpileup

I have not been at the top of my game this week.  Really, I haven’t quite recovered from our trip to Chicago over Halloween; seems I’ve been playing catch-up ever since.  The laundry and the dirty dishes are looming large.  The clutter is creeping, and I’m having a hard time planning activities for the kids more than about three minutes ahead of time.  In general, things seem to be getting done at the last minute–if not later!–which tends to leave me frazzled and cranky.  Which definitely makes it hard to be the mama that I want to be.  In particular, I’ve been struggling with enjoying the kids’ craziness instead of letting it make me crazy.

Then, earlier this week, I found out that a friend’s daughter, Anna’s age, has just been diagnosed with leukemia.  She started chemotherapy today.  As cancers go, this is one with a good prognosis, but it’s still very serious.  I can only imagine what it must be like for her mother.

So, as I struggle with my own ups and downs, I’m trying to hold little Lena and her family in my heart and mind.  It’s kind of crazy that it can take something like this to remind us how lucky we are.  While I think that in general I’m pretty good at counting my blessings, perhaps this can help me put my minor challenges in perspective.  And maybe help me soften at those moments when I’m ready to yell instead.

We have a mantra in our house, chanted when the mayhem seems overwhelming: “Our house is so full of life.”  Which it is.  And which can often feel like too much.  But let’s face it–we wouldn’t really want it any other way.

