Finally, a stationery box!

by threegirlpileup

I have been wanting to do this ever since I saw it over on Playful Learning. (There’s also a nice post on letter writing with children here.)  Well, it’s only taken me two months to put it into action.  A few nights ago the girls were doing some mad impromptu letter writing, and I decided it was time to get the supplies together in one place.

Anna jumped into it before I managed to take a picture of it untouched, but here’s what went in:

  • Letter Paper (also from Playful Learning)
  • Blank notecards
  • Envelopes
  • Stickers (letters and pictures)
  • A list of names of family and friends, for cutting and pasting
  • A list of phrases (“I love you” and “I liked it when we” and “Thank you” etc.) also for cutting and pasting
  • Scissors, glue sticks, pencils, eraser, pencil sharpener, and markers
  • Lettering guides

dscf2672

Maggie and Anna launched into a card-making/letter-writing frenzy this morning, with the grandmothers particularly in mind.

dscf2692

It’s a good reminder for me….appealingly arranged materials and a clear, open workspace invite the girls to work and play.

