Yes, quinoa can be really tasty.

by threegirlpileup

Actually, I’m not a hard sell on quinoa.  I like its funky texture, and–as someone who doesn’t always gravitate to the healthiest choices on the menu–I love that it’s so good for me.

This recipe for a cheesy quinoa casserole is liberally adapted from one I found some time ago in Vegetarian Times.  It was a great way to dig into my weekly portion of farm fresh milk and eggs, plus local Amish cheddar.

Cheesy Quinoa Casserole

  • 1 tbl. olive oil or butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup or more of other chopped veggies (I used carrots and celery; bell pepper would be good, too, I think)
  • 2-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-1/2 cups quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • 3 cups stock
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (preferably whole)
  • 1-1/2 cups grated cheese

Preheat oven to 350 (325 convection). Saute the onion, garlic, and other veggies in the oil/butter until soft.  Add the quinoa and saute until opaque, about 3 min.  Add the stock, salt, and pepper, and bring to a simmer.  Cover and cook over low heat until most of the liquid is absorbed, about 5 minutes.  Meanwhile, whisk the eggs and milk together.  When quinoa is cooked, stir into the milk mixture along with the cheese.  Pour into a greased casserole (I used a big shallow one) and bake for about 30 minutes, until set and lightly browned.

dscf2781

I found this really satisfying–just the kind of cheesy yumminess that I missed when we were off dairy for so long.  I think it would also be great for anyone who is gluten-free, as it gives sort of a mac-and-cheese experience without the mac.  I also think there are a lot of possibilities for tweaking the seasoning and using more/different vegetables.

Enjoy!

