The closest we’re getting to snow…

by threegirlpileup

…at least until we head to Illinois on Christmas day.

dscf2881

My friend Nancy gifted up with these nifty snowflake forms, as well as beads and ribbon, so the girls and I decided to give it a whirl.

dscf2875

This was one of those projects that is simple and yet more challenging than it looks.  All of us experienced filling one length of wire and then tilting the frame wrong, sending the beads flying.  One good idea I had was making a clay stand that we could stick the frames into; the only limitation was that you can only do that for the first half of the ornament.  In the end, it seemed to work best if we worked together on these; sometimes we put the beads on together, and other times I did the second half of the snowflake.  The end result was pretty pleasing, and also made an impressive dent in my embarrasingly large backstock of beads (who knew I had so many blue beads??).  I hung them from the pass-through between the dining room and kitchen, so I get to watch them twinkle when I do the dishes.

dscf2877

Not a bad substitute for the real thing, if I do say so myself.

