Many pots on the stove

by threegirlpileup

dscf3065

So here it is, Sunday afternoon, and I miraculously have some time to cook.  A big batch of marinara sauce (recipe from this amazing book) and a pot of curry thrown together from several leftover curries that have been languishing in the freezer.  The pasta sauce is a money-in-the-bank kind of project…cooking ahead to make some sauce that can be quickly thawed for dinner.  Of all the things I canned, we ran through the pasta sauce first, and I’ve been really wanting another batch (even if it has to be made from canned tomatoes this time of year).  So that’s simmering on the stove right now.  Along with the curry, which creates a set of smells in the kitchen that are surprisingly harmonious.

I’ve been on a tare lately to replenish my quick-and-easy meal stores, which have been depleted of late.  Well, maybe depleted is a bit of an overstatement.  Running a little less than full, perhaps?  At any rate, I just seem incapable of making a small batch of anything when a big batch means a freezer full of deliciousness.  Which is probably why I embarked on the world’s largest batch of pizza sauce earlier in the week….what a great feeling it is to have pizza dough and sauce in the freezer!  A few weeks ago I bought a can of pizza sauce at the store and was appalled by the price and deprived of the satisfaction of using my own.

That won’t happen for a long time, now.  16 pints of pizza sauce later, I think we’re set for awhile.

dscf3063

I wish I had a picture of all those beautiful jars, but I don’t.  And special thanks to my mom and dad, who tended the sauce all afternoon while we were out.  If you’re feeling like a BIG cooking project, take a trip to Costco and go for it–here’s the recipe.

Huge batch of pizza sauce

4 #10 (108 oz.) cans crushed tomatoes (or tomato puree)

16 cloves garlic, minced

16 bay leaves

1/3 cup dried oregano

1/3 cup dried basil

Freshly ground pepper to taste

Combine ingredients in a really big pot, preferably with a nice thick bottom.  Simmer until nice and thick–this will take a few hours.  Imagine all those tasty pizzas you’re going to enjoy, and pat yourself on the back for making this sauce from scratch.

