Digging in the dirt

by threegirlpileup

I’m not the only one who’s been digging in the dirt lately.

Something I’ve been thinking about doing for a while is setting up a dirt digging area in the yard.  Both of the girls love to dig, and it’s hard for Anna to resist digging in the vegetable garden.  And I thought the girls would enjoy having their own spot for digging.  The result was a cleared area in the trees that I surrounded by leftover landscaping rocks.

dscf3511

Maggie tells me that she’s digging a swimming pool.  I  mentioned that it might be a bit muddy, but she was not deterred.  “I’m sure I can figure something out, ” she assured me.

Anna, meanwhile, found another corner for digging.  Our yard is bordered by a creek on one side and a drainage ditch/tributary on the other, and this is a favorite spot.  The ditch is now dried up, but still a great place for playing.

dscf3545

There was some making of stew, digging for rocks, and then throwing said rocks into the one remaining pool of water.

A good time was had by all.

