How I learned to love kale

by threegirlpileup

I admit it–I am not a lover of greens.  Collard, mustard, even swiss chard hold no appeal for me.  I have always liked spinach, but to me that is an entirely different animal taste-wise.  Kale used to fall in that same category, until my friend Eleanor served me kale braised with raisins, which evolved into the following family favorite. (My theory is that if raisins are good, dried cherries will always be better.)

dscf3593

Braised Kale with Cherries and Pecans

  • A big bunch of kale (more than you think, it shrinks a lot)
  • Several cloves chopped garlic
  • olive oil and/or butter
  • A handful of dried cherries
  • A handful of chopped, toasted pecans (or Nourishing Tradition’s crispy pecans)
  • Best quality balsamic vinegar and olive oil
  • salt and pepper

(Yes, olive oil is in this recipe twice.  I use basic extra-virgin olive oil for the cooking, and then dress at the end with an extra-tasty fancy olive oil.)

Remove the thick ribs from the kale, and rinse in a colander.  Saute the garlic in the olive oil for a couple of minutes, and then add the kale.  Saute for another minute or so, then add a little more water to the pan (it should sizzle up, creating some steam.  Sprinkle with the cherries and cover; cook on low until the greens are as tender as you like.  To serve, sprinkle with the pecans and dress with a dash of the vinegar and oil, plus salt and pepper to taste.

Who knew something so nutritious (not to mention easy to grow) could be so tasty?

