May in Review

Yes, I’m still here.

I was inspired by this idea at Holistic Mama last month, and wanted to try it out.

May in Review, in 1 sentence.  We are transitioning into the warm season, finding our new rhythm in the cool mornings, hot and sunny days, and long light-filled evenings.

Summary (3 sentence max)
Spring is here, and summer is not far behind.  Picking (and putting up) strawberries, weekly trips to the farmer’s market, lots of gardening.  Remembering the importance of SHADE.

Fun
The pool is open!  Maggie turned 8!  We’re making our own cheese!

Challenging
Finding balance between work and family and time for myself.  Keeping the chaos at bay.

Thoughtful
Summer is almost here, and I’m listening to Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. Again.  This book always inspires me to try and live in my own foodshed and appreciate seasonal produce.  I love that this book is so much about the joy of eating this beautiful food rather than being about deprivation.

An insight/thought
I’m learning to sit on my hands more with the girls, letting them find their own way as they are creating and learning.  Every time I get the urge to instruct or offer suggestions, I try and take a moment and ask myself if my interference is needed.  I’m finding that usually, it’s not.

Website/blog Find/Tip or Idea from web

A regular source of inspiration these days is Camp Creek Press.  A post I keep going back to is this one, “Making Room for Their Ideas.”  It’s really helped me frame the way that the girls and I work together.

Words (quote/reading/book recommendation/1 sentence review!/anything word-related)

“If you observe a really happy man, you will find him building a boat, writing a symphony, educating his son, growing double dahlias in his garden, or looking for dinosaur eggs in the Gobi desert.  He will not be searching for happiness as if it were a collar button that has rolled under the radiator.” — W. Beran Wolfe  (thanks to Lori at Camp Creek Press, see above)

Note to Self
Take a deep breath.

Slice of home (A photo of a tiny corner of your home, or objects, that represent something about this month.)

Summer evenings:  Dinner on the deck!

DSCF3684