Sunflower House–we’re still trying.

by threegirlpileup

Or should I say, we’re trying again, as the original planting is mostly gone.  And the planting after that.  And after that.  We have many birds in our yard, especially lots of crows, and they LOVE the sunflower seeds.  They seem to be eating them as fast as I can plant them–we keep finding empty sunflower seed hulls scattered around the garden.  So we have only a few sunflower seedlings, a lot of morning glories, and some rapidly growing pumpkins that I tossed in around the edge.

In desperation, I’m trying a new approach:

DSCF3733

There’s a flat of sunflower seeds planted on my deck, and hopefully I’ll be able to transplant these little beauties into the soil, and have more success than with the direct seeding.

My only worry now is the deer that surprised us in the yard yesterday morning…hopefully she won’t be back to munch the seedlings down to the ground.  But we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.

