I am obsessed with this salad.

by threegirlpileup

DSCF3778

One of the books I’ve read recently is Fatally Flaky by Diane Mott Davidson.  The main character is a caterer, and in one scene she fixes her husband a big salad of frisee that she tops with a fried egg.  Once I read that, I couldn’t get it out of my mind.  I think I may have had something like that at our favorite fancy restaurant, but the specific dish eludes me.  At any rate, dreams of salad with a yolky egg danced in my head for a week before I finally made it for the first time.

I’ve tried a couple of variations, but my favorite is salad greens, chopped steamed beets, and crumbled goat cheese, dressed with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and plenty of salt and pepper.  Top with a fried egg (or two), and sprinkle with a generous helping of little pieces of bacon.

It’s 8 a.m., but I think that may be what I’m having for breakfast.  Yum!

