Three cheers for smoothies

by threegirlpileup

These days, we’ve been drinking smoothies a lot.  I’m not sure how we got on this latest kick, but it’s popular all around.  Smoothies are one of those rare food home-runs.  Maggie–who has a relatively short list of foods she will eat, most of which are entirely unadorned–loves them.  Anna–who eats a wide variety of foods, but routinely refuses things that she happily ate the day before–never turns them down.  And I love their simplicity and the fact that I can fill them with fortifiers ranging from flax meal to fish oil; it feels like a good boost of nutrition when it seems like the girls are living on cheddar bunnies and air.   Not to mention that I love that whenever I say, “Do you guys want to have smoothies?” there is invariably a chorus of “Yes!”

I don’t have a set recipe that I use–a little of this, a little of that.  Frozen fruit, orange juice, homemade yogurt, agave nectar, and a few nutritional boosters.  I’m still kind of amazed that I’ve been able to get away with adding cod liver oil, even if it is strawberry flavored.  Today, as I was making smoothies for breakfast, I thought I might try some powdered greens….

DSCF4184

Our beloved ivy cups are perhaps not typical for smoothie-drinking, but we cut down the straws and they worked just fine.  The fancy china added to the festive feeling of the morning.  And the smoothies helped make up for the decidedly sub-par batch of scones that I had also whipped up.

DSCF4187

At some point, I figured out that the leftover smoothies made great popsicles,  so I’m usually able to make a few from each batch.  They make a great breakfast–a healthier choice than fudgesicles, but almost as fun. And perfect for girls who just can stop playing to eat a meal.

DSCF4138

