The Empress of the Sky

by threegirlpileup

It was a busy weekend around here.  Perhaps Maggie’s favorite activity is Young People’s Performing Company, and her class put on a play this weekend: “The Stonecutter and the Tiger.”

DSCF4204

Maggie played the Jade Empress, Empress of the Sky.  The pictures are kind of terrible, since I couldn’t use a flash, but it’s fun to have even some blurry images of the kids doing there thing.

The company’s costumer was on vacation, so I jumped in at the last minute to help out a little.  We brought that big piece green fabric and I whipped it into a dress for the Empress (thank you, serger!).  It wasn’t perfect, but it worked.  And I feel like I’ve gone through some sort of parental milestone, staying up late finishing a costume for the next day’s play.

The best part of all of this is Maggie’s joy.  Again, kind of a terrible picture, but that big smile says it all.

DSCF4208

