Letting Go

by threegirlpileup

Now, you might think that this post is about letting go of my kids as they grow, or letting go of my control over their learning.

It’s not.

This post is about knitting.

SouleMama recently posted about ripping back a sweater that was almost finished but wasn’t really turning out the way she liked.  It reminded me that I had a few knitting projects in the “retired” basket that really needed some tending to.

DSCF4268

So I said goodbye to a number of projects-in-process…

Emma’s Unmentionables–much as I love this pattern, I think this kind of garment is more the kind of thing I would sew rather than knit.  I just didn’t enjoy working on it that much, and by the time I finished it I don’t think it would have fit either of my girls.  So goodbye bloomers, hello many skeins of lovely green Cascade Sierra.  Any ideas what I should do with it?

Bristow-Okay, let’s face it–this sweater was kind of a fantasy.  I still have hopes of knitting a sweater for myself, but a fancy cabled sweater knit on size 5 needles is pretty much of a non-starter.  It’s nice, though, that I now have a sweater’s worth of  worsted weight yarn (gorgeous Black Water Abbey worsted in Ocean) waiting for me when I finally do have the time and concentration to take on a mama-sized sweater.

The Jane Austen Dress: I have been attracted more than once to dresses with knitted bodices and sewn skirts.  A nice quick project, right?  I saw this one on SouleMama, and was charmed.  I got the yarn, cast it on, and started knitting.  But for some reason, the simple lace pattern entirely befuddled me.  I kept messing up the stitch count.  After ripping back three or four times, I decided that this was not the patern for me, no matter how sweet it is.  Yesterday, it finally came off the needles.  I’ve saved the yarn, perhaps for a simpler dress bodice.  But maybe not.  I think I just don’t like knitting with cotton that much!

It feels surprisingly great to rip up the knitting and put it to rest.  All of these projects had been languishing for at least many  months, or even more than a year.  Time to let go and move on!  I wound the balls, put the yarn back in my stash, and was able with equanimity to return to my two current projects on the needles.  No unfinished projects crowding my mind or my knitting basket.

Aaaaahhhhh.

