A fairy photo shoot

by threegirlpileup

We’ve been in full throttle holiday mayhem around here.  Turkey and cousins and leaf-gathering and crafting.  Did I mention crafting?  Sewing, mostly.  We’re experimenting with a new holiday plan, celebrating Christmas in Chicago with my family in early December.  We leave on Wednesday.  Which means that I have been madly completing last-minute gifts–and it isn’t even December yet.  I think this will turn out to be a great plan–it’s just that I have to readjust my gift-making schedule.  And I do think that next year we will not try and travel the week after Thanksgiving.  What was I thinking?

Anyway, in the midst of all the madness, Anna and I found a little time to do an outdoor photo shoot with her new fairy dolls.  I think I’ve mentioned her obsession with love of the Rainbow Magic fairy books.  For her birthday, Maggie and I made her a set of the Rainbow Fairies from the first set of books.  We used the wonderful Fern Friends pattern from Fern & Faerie.

Anna wanted to get each of the fairies in a place that coordinated with her color.  Luckily, it’s been a warm fall–so there’s still quite a lot out there.

Ruby the Red Fairy found a spot in the pineapple sage.

Amber the Orange Fairy perched on some cosmos.

Sunny the Yellow Fairy nestled in a bed of leaves, complete with leaf blanket.

Fern the Green Fairy also snuggled down in bed, hers of lamb’s ear.

Sky the blue fairy kept falling off her spring of mystery blue flowers, so we gave her some help.

Inky the Indigo fairy found her spot in a (miraculously) blooming iris.

And  finally, Heather the Violet Fairy fit perfectly in our purple cabbage.

This was FUN.  It was a gorgeous day, and it was a delight to the amazing number of flowers that were still blooming, even in late November.  I have a new camera I’m trying to get the hang of, so this gave me a chance to play with it (I do think I’m going to have to break down and read the manual).  And before we went in, we turned on the video, and Anna did interviews with some of the fairies.  Good times.

And now, back to the sewing….

