Grateful.

by threegirlpileup

I am lucky to have a very wonderful mother-in-law.  One who appreciates a handmade gift, and is also one of the few people left on the planet who actually writes letters.  So I couldn’t think of a better gift for her than SouleMama’s Gratitude Wrap.

(And, okay, if we’re going to be entirely truthful here, I wanted something I could knock out pretty quickly, so we wouldn’t have a repeat of last year’s Christmas socks–which were delivered in July.  So sewing, rather than knitting, seemed the way to go.)

Best of all, I was able to pull together some wonderful fabrics and notions I already had on hand…a floral print selected by Anna, some green linen left from another project, and some perfectly matching purple bias binding.

The only change I made was the addition of a pen loop.  I also discovered later that apparently the post office has changed the size of books of stamps–they’re tiny now!–so I might make that pocket smaller next time.

This was such quick little sewing project that I want to make more, more, more!  One for each of the girls (we’re working on the thank-you note habit around here), and one for me as well.

The special surprise for Gramma was the cards on the inside.  I scanned in some of my favorite examples of the girls’ artwork of the past year, printed them out, and pasted them onto blank notecards.  So, carefully tucked into the card pocket was a custom set of granddaughter art cards.  Just the kind of thing that this Gramma appreciates.

Makes me a little itchy to write some cards myself….

