Risotto tastes so much better than it looks.

by threegirlpileup

..which is why the only photo I’m going to include is this one, where you can’t see it all that well.

I love risotto, and have been wanting to make some since the asparagus started coming in.  Somehow, it’s taken until now for the stars to align enough for me to make it happen.  Although even this effort was not without its stumbles–when I went to get an onion from under the sink, the whole back was kind of soft and moldy.  (I think I need a different place to store potatoes and onions in summer!)  I managed to salvage a few tablespoons of minced onion, but set off to borrow one from the neighbors–and came up completely empty handed.  I’m not sure how it’s possible that no one on my block had an onion, but I made do with what I had, throwing in a few chopped scallions.  Between that and my general Steve-has-been-in-Colorado-all-week Friday afternoon malaise, it was nearly 8 p.m. before the risotto was actually finished–a late dinner for us, since we like to be moving toward bedtime for the kids by then.  Fortunately, the kids were entirely uninterested in the risotto, and were happy to mainly dine on strawberries and peas from the garden, listening to the finale of Harry Potter #4 while I stirred and stirred and stirred.

So it was late when I sat down to my gorgeous (-tasting, if not -looking) dinner of ham and asparagus risotto and a lovely little salad of spring greens and snow peas from the garden.  I’d love to tell you that Steve came home from his trip and we all had a pleasant dinner where we reconnected after our week apart.  But his plane was delayed and we didn’t see him until much later.  And to be honest, at the end of the week, the girls and I are often togethered out, and are just as happy to have a little apart time.  Doesn’t fit the image of family togetherness I might like to project, but it works for us.  After all, it wasn’t too long before we were all snuggled up in bed together to sleep.  In the meantime, the girls hung out with Harry Potter, and I sat quietly enjoying my meal and the view of the falling rain watched a little Top Chef Masters.

And when Steve came home, he did the dishes. What a good man.

